Reviews

RV Park Reviews

We are happy you stayed with us at Wagonhammer RV Park in North Fork Idaho. Click here to write a review of your experience.

Very nice place to stay. Great accommodations for all kinds of travelers from big motor homes to tents. I travel in a little mini trailer and they were able to accommodate me very nicely. Clean facilities and very friendly folks.
Roxie C. – Willard, Utah


 

We arrived at this place in the afternoon. First we had such a friendly welcome from the owner. We got a campsite on the riverside, a perfect place for us. The weather was warm this day with a little bit of wind in the evening. We slept well because of the peace and quiet and there was no noise from the street. The bathrooms are absolutely clean as the whole campground. We want to move Wagonhammer Campground to Germany. So many thanks..
Susanne & Thomas Wuerthele – Stuttgart, Germany


 

We stayed 3 days at the Wagonhammer Campground during June, 2016. We had been traveling about 1 month across Utah and Idaho. This park is the best so far. Camp hosts were very helpful about where to go to see the wildlife in the area. The trees and Salmon River are beautiful. We will definitely be back when we return to this part of Idaho.
Carolyn Brandon – Heber Springs, Arkansas


 

We were just returning to north Idaho on our way back from spending time south for winter. It was late in the day and we were very tired. We pulled into Waganhammer to try to sty for the night. It was dark and the open sign was not lit. I knocked anyway and Shirley answered. She explained that they were just opening the park and therefore not
all services were available only electricity. We stayed the night and it was the best stay we had on our trip. They are so nice and the park is very beautiful. We had stayed there before for a week. We will be back again. Just in our one night stay we saw cranes fly in and a bald eagle catch a fish and sit on the grass to eat it. This is a truly beautiful park. Shirley and Ab’s hospitality is unbeatable. We recommend this park to anyone who wants beauty and quiet in their stay. We will be back.
Gail Osterson – Coeur d Alene, Idaho


 

We enjoyed our time at Wagonhammer RV Campground so very much. We are “newby” full timers and the touch of “home and family” that we found at this beautiful park was wonderful. Shirley and Abner are warm and welcoming, and we instantly knew we were in a special place. Everything is here…beautiful scenery, the Salmon River, spacious sites, clean restrooms, laundry, lovely grounds, lodge style gathering room with amazing stone fireplace….Oh! and wait until you see Shirley’s gift shop! Oh! and an island to walk your dog off leash….our dog loved it here! I could go on and on, but you’ll have to experience it yourself….you won’t be disappointed! We could onlystay one week, but without a doubt we have joined the “Wagonhammer Be-Backs” May 2015
Bob and Diana Smith – Oregon


 

“This place is the real deal; no gimmicks. We went last year; just passing through and were going to stay just one night but wound up staying three. This year 12 of us went back for varied lengths. I stayed 9 days & am trying to figure out how to stay two weeks next year. You just have to experience it to understand.” September 2014
Noni Smyth – San Luis Obispo, CA


 

“We recently visited and really enjoyed our time there. Very scenic, clean and the best site we have stayed in this year.” August 2014
Roger Redmond – Holladay, UT


 

“We were traveling with friends, both of us in large motorcoaches, wanting to stay on the Salmon River. When we found Wagonhammer we were thrilled with the spaces facing the river, as well as all of the help Shirley gave in arranging float trips, dog grooming, haircuts, and bus repairs ! This was the best RV stop we have ever had ANYWHERE! Big rig friendly, clean, well managed and lots of good treats in the store. We are going out of our way to stop there again on the way home!” August 2014
Connie & Doug Travis – Crystal Beach Texas


 

***MOUNTAIN BIKERS ALERT***
“While reading all of the many wonderful reviews about Wagonhammer RV Park I couldn’t agree more; this is a very special place. Ab & Shirley really go out of their way to give their guests a 5 star experience here. While staying here for a couple of days on what has been a month long RV/Mountain Bike vacation in British Columbia, Montana and Idaho, we discovered that Idaho’s Salmon River country is a slice of mountain bike heaven. In nearby Salmon, Max Lohmeyer has recently opened up the Hub of Salmon Bike Shop. He has also published an incredible guidebook of all the best rides between Salmon, North Fork and Leadore. Wagonhammer RV Park puts you right in the middle of some amazing singletrack and is only a stone’s throw away from the Wagonhammer Creek trailhead. The Elk Trail Loop and the Burns Gulch Loop (#’s 18 & 19) rank high up as some of the best singletrack I’ve done on this trip! Come ride Salmon’s undiscovered gem and stay with Ab & Shirley at Wagonhammer RV Resort.” July 2014
Bruce & Sharon Gallagher – Rifle, Colorado


 

Wagonhammer is much more than an RV Park. It’s a gathering place of some of the nicest, friendliest people you could find anywhere. We came to Wagonhammer last year for a relaxing 2 week stay, ended up buying a property and are now building our dream home. The scenery is beautiful and the people are so welcoming. Abner and Shirley make you feel like part of the family….and they have the best gift shop around!! There is nothing more beautiful than looking over the Salmon River to the mountains on the other side and watching the eagles and other wild life.
Jim & Maron Strong – Bozeman, Montana


 

“I was raised in Salmon/North Fork area and live in Boise now! I had not been to the area in over 20 years! But one day decided to travel north to Wagonhammer. The Wagonhammer is the most beautiful RV Park on the Salmon River! Shirley and Abner are simply the best host possible! Honestly it is the most beautiful RV Park I’ve been to in a long time. We chose a site on the river and were certainly glad we did. The fishing was GREAT! In a week I caught close to 50 fish! Our site was perfect! Shirley, Abner and the other host just went above and beyond to insure a great stay for us! We have met wonderful people and made friendships we will cherish for a lifetime! Thanks for having such a beautiful place for us Idahoans to go. We highly recommend that you visit and experience the “Wagonhammer” way of life. You will be back!”
Laura Grech – Boise, Idaho


 

“I love to fish and stay at Wagonhammer Campground. Ab and Shirley are great and do a fantastic job. We have been coming here for 4 years and each stay is longer. I guide professionally during the summer for Heise Expeditions on the South Fork of the Snake River.”
Jim Bruce


 

“My husband and I started coming to Wagonhammer 7 years ago, and we love it here. Ab & Shirley, Rose & Ed are blessings in our life, they are so welcoming and hospitable. Just the best, we look forward to our visit every fall to Steelhead fish, play cards and visit. You can’t beat the happy hour, chili night and sitting around the campfire.”
Micki Bruce – Rigby Idaho


 

“I have been coming to Salmon, Idaho for about 10 years. Since Shirley & Ab took over Wagonhammer about 8 years ago, it has become a warm homecoming every time myself or other campers arrive. Anything you could need or want can and will be provided for all who come here. The way the grounds are kept make it feel ike camping on a golf course. A two day drive not better spent than coming to Wagonhammer Campgrounds!”
George (Lenny) Black – Bell Flower California


 

“It’s so peaceful and beautiful. Shirley and Ab are such gracious hosts,
It’s like coming home!”
Hope & Cindy Baker – Seminole, Texas


 

“We’ve stayed at Wagonhammer the last two years. Each year, we stayed longer than planned. Just made reservations for next year, for an entire month! Wagonhammer is a most beauitful park, surrounded by mountains, and right on the Salmon River. Abner and Shirley Schultz take tremendous pride in their RV Park, and are more than your hosts. They become your personal concierge, facilitating whatever your needs may be, as you take advantage of all this area has to offer. With so much to see, so much to do, and the best accommodations available anywhere in the area, we’ll be “Be Backs” at Wagonhammer for many years to come.One…Two..Three: Wagonhammer!”
Fred and Lynne Sowerby – Bandera, Texas


 

Are looking forward to our stay this coming June. Your website is very nice and if it is all that the pictures indicate, can’t wait to get there! This will be a our first time. Bringing friends with us and KNOW they will love it! See you soon!
Tom and Linda Culbertson of Providence, Utah


 

We were the first to use the tipis this July. Thanks for posting our pictures on facebook. We arrived back in Thornton on Sat. 8/25/12 after being on the road for 12 weeks. We also hope to “be back” sometime soon!
Henry & Judy Eizenga – Thornton Illinois


 

We had a group of 27 motorhomes at Wagonhammer and had a wonderful time. Shirley and Abner went out of their way to make our stay so enjoyable. It is such a beautiful, peaceful and restful place that you must take at least 2-3 days to relax. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Skip & Gail Activities Directors
Foretravel Motorcade Club from All over the US


 

An outstanding park with gracious hosts!
Dennis McDonald – Texas


 

I have always heard the Wagonhammer was a great place to stay from my dad and husband when they came back from their Steelhead fishing trips. So when my husband finally talked me into going I had a wonderful time. Shirley and Abner make you feel right at home and you feel like you make some good new friends before you leave. The place is fixed up so nice and it is very beautiful. Plus the bathrooms are always clean, important to me! We are back in Utah and missing the Wagonhammer!
Diane Davidson – Utah


 

My husband (Jim) and I just returned from our annual trip to North Fork and the Wagonhammer RV Park. As usual it was a great trip with a very warm return welcome and a bitter sweet goodbye. Ab and Shirley and Joe and Dena are the very best in the business, we love them dearly. So sorry we missed seeing James and Maryann, I would have loved to have had a chance to play gin rummy with the two of them. Maybe next year. I am already looking forward to seeing everyone in just less thatn 11 months, “get the cards shuffled girls”……Thank you so very much for the endless hospitality…
Jim and Micki Bruce – Rigby Idaho


 

This is a GREAT place to stay and enjoy the great outdoors. We had a wonderful time while we were there. I am looking forward to going back this year. The owners could not be nicer they made us feel right at home from the very first day we were there ! It is well worth the drive to just relax and enjoy the out doors.
Keith and Linda Martin – northern California

Shirley & Ab nice hats
George Lenny Black – California


 

The best thing about the summer of 2012 was discovering Wagonhammer, in spite of the reason that we had to discover it!
We can’t thank you enough for takin in all the fire refugees at a moment’s notice. To do it was one thing, but to do it without cost to any of us was way above and beyond the call of duty and we still talk about how amazing you have been – talk about good neighbors! You can be sure word of Wagonhammer Campground will be carried far and wide by us.
A donation is being made in your name to the North Fork Fire Department, with our heartfelt thanks to you and to them as well. What a great area to live in, for more reasons than we can count, and we’ll be counting you as one of the heretofore, undiscovered treasures of the area from now on. We’ll see you at a Friday night gathering soon!
Ted and Mary Royer – Gibbonsville, ID


 

Wagonhammer is by far one of the nicest RV campgrounds we have had the pleasure to stay at, as well as guest host for a few months. Abner and Shirley are a great team and make their guests feel welcome. It was fun to meet new people at their Friday night “Happy Appies”. Guests were invited to bring an appetizer and join in the fun. Also on Monday nights, Shirley made chili and the guests were invited to join in Monday night football, and the girls played cards, or games if they didn’t want to watch football. A good time was had by all. If you are looking for a great place to take the family, you can’t go wrong with a stay at Wagonhammers. The area is beyond beautiful, once there you don’t want to leave.
Sue & Joe Hainsworth – Hesperia, California


 

Thank you for the Christmas greeting. The website is wonderful. Blessings on your Christmas and New Year! Cindy Baker – Seminole


 

We have enjoyed Wagonhammer for two summers 2008 and 2009. We will be returning soon. Elmer and Shirley are such gracious host and the facilities are great. Friendly folks who visit, we all get together and have lots of fun. Surrounding mountains offer great trout fishing or just exploring. Great place to stay and enjoy the beautiful Idaho scenery.
Floyd and Rubye Box – San Antonio Texas


 

Beautiful web page. It is even more beautiful to see it in person!! Great spot, bro. Enjoyed every minute.
Ralph Schultz – Stratford, Ontario, Canada


 

Wagonhammer is “Steelhead Heaven Wagonhammer Rules
Brian Greenhalgh – Idaho Falls


 

What a beautiful place. I wish I didn’t live so close so I could come stay with You!
Kathy McDonald, Salmon Idaho


 

Hi guys, I am remarried and live in northern ID. My hubby goes between Spokane and Coeur d Alene servicing the cancer radiation machines in the area. I am not working right now which is really nice but I do miss the people. Looks like you have done so many great things with the campground.If I ever get back that way I will have to stop in and say HI. You guys were great to me during my difficult time. Thanks
Cindy Biggs Cindy’s Cut Above – Rathdrum Idaho


 

Best Shopping in the Valley!!!! From the Ridge to the Rivers Idaho

The gift shop is simply “over the top” Not your usual t-shirts and key chains, although they do have those. There are also gorgeous leather goods, watches, and scarves,beautiful jewelry, all at great prices. I did some of my Christmas shopping at Wagonhammer
Pam Lodefink – Arlington, Washington


 

Came for 4 days, stayed 13. Next year came for 2 weeks and sadly left due to travel schedule; the following year stayed a month; then two months…best vacation times ever! This year will be a split two months (WA wedding in between….can hardly wait!!! Strangers become friends in no time at all. Town happenings are awesome, too. Shirley and Ab – thank YOU for turning a piece of property into PARADISE!
Jake & Lori Connelly – Lake Havasu City, AZ


 

We came to stay for a couple of nights and we are still here…5 nights later. Haven’t decided when we’ll leave because we are enjoying the surroundings and the hospitality so much. We’ve met some wonderful folks who are fast becoming friends. Whenever we do leave we will surely return. Thanks for making us feel so welcome. Rob & Mary Ann
Rob and Mary Ann – Riverside, California


 

Thank you for providing a first class Good Sam RV Park. We have stayed in Campgrounds all over the United States and Canada and have never found one better than Wagonhamer. The Park is maintained and in pristine condition and the gift shop is great. The setting is absolutely beautiful: woods, wild flowers, birds, trees and grass along the river provide a peaceful and lovely environment for weary travelers. We arrived tired and left six days later relaxed and rested. We enjoyed watching birds and other wildlife and had a campfire each evening. We watched the full moon rise over the mountain casting a silver glow on the river. We appreciated not only the setting but found the staff friendly and helpfully involved in all aspects of the Park’s operation.
We will highly recommend Wagonhammer and hopefully will return someday.
Sincerely, David and Carol Desautela

RV Park Reviews

Thank you for submitting your review of Wagonhammer RV Park & Campgrounds. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us..

* indicates required field